Faces Frequently asked 

What is the National Quality Framework?

The National Quality Framework (NQF) is an Australian Government initiative aimed at bringing consistency to the level of quality of early learning and care across the country in the critical areas of education, health and safety. The NQF will also provide clearer and comprehensive information for families so they can choose the best services for their child. The main reforms being implemented through the NQF are:
  • Curriculum guided by approved learning frameworks
  • Improved staff-to-child ratios
  • New staff qualification requirements
  • New quality rating system
  • New national governing body (ACECQA)
There are seven quality standards being introduced as part of the NQF. These standards will form the basis of how a centre's quality is rated. The seven quality standards are:
  • Educational program and practice
  • Children's health and safety
  • Physical environment
  • Staffing arrangements
  • Relationships with children
  • Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  • Leadership and service management